Day Twelve: The schedule.

7:46AM: Where am I? What time is it? %**&%$! 
Forgot how to set alarm on new phone, wake up twenty minutes late. Rush through a shower anyway, you’re all welcome.

8:25AM: Breakfa…just kidding.
Forgot to buy soy milk too.

8:40AM: BONJOUR pain au chocolat.
The market on my block is dangerously full of pastries and cheap wine, and nearly all markets have a delicious homemade bread section. I just went for the cheapest (.60 euro) option, obviously.

8:45AM: *bip* *bip* *bip*
That’s me playing the absurd, midi-tone-filled game on my cell phone on the metro. Did I mention the phone cost 20 euros?

9:02AM: *bip*
That’s just the elevator. I’m on time-ish. Wait though, how crazy is this? The elevators aren’t enclosed!

9AM – 100PM: …
If you think we’re totally silent for four hours you’re nuts.

100PM: BONJOUR brie.
Lunch is jasmine rice with melted brie and breakfasty potatoes. There were also some leftover sweets from yesterday’s work picnic. I’m going away for the weekend so it’s leftover city for me. I also take a trip to the mall, again, during lunch. I need a blanket, okay? It’s cold, and I don’t want to sleep in my jacket anymore.

100PM – 600P: …
Crunch time, I actually am pretty quiet. There’s a Monday deadline and I might be away for the weekend.

600PM: Special boyfriend!!
Skype date time 🙂

615PM: I didn’t eat enough unhealthy food today. Let’s remedy this.
Two of the interns and myself hop on the metro to “The House of Haagen Daazs” to visit my roommate working there. Almost five euro to sit on the terrasse with one ‘boule’ of ice cream! That’s ball (like, just bigger than a golf ball), not bowl. But caramel cone explosion is SO GOOD.

730PM: Must. See. Gatsby.
No, not tonight. But on the long walk back to the metro, we pass a big theathre and it’s still showing… and I haven’t seen it! (Trishy, I hope you didn’t wait for me.) Now here’s the big question – what language will it be in? (Turns out it depends on what theatre you watch it in.) We’ll be back next week.

800PM: *bip* *bip* *boop* GETOVERHERE!
Metro. Not playing Mortal Kombat, but that would be funny, right? No? Fine, whatever.

830PM: Saiddd one two princes kneel before you, that’s what I said now…
Cooking dinner. The radio plays the WEIRDEST STUFF here, switching between that and French singers. Dinner was spinach and ricotta tortellini (fresh, obviously, because it’s cheaper) with peas and carrots.

845PM: Salut, comment s’est passée ta journée?
Roommate #1 back from Haagen-Daazs. I’ve been trying to work on my French with them. Some days are more successful than others. “I would have rather” was a tough one to translate. Facebook says it’s roommate #2’s birthday, so we whip together a chocolate cake in the microwave. She’s too clever.

1036PM: I don’t think she’s coming home… oops.
Sad cake on the counter. Almost time for another skype date with boy, and then with mom, and then zzzzz.

Note: This is not a typical food day for me, haha. Which just makes it all the more important to remember when I’m dreaming of cheap French cheese and fresh German ice cream.

WAIT WHAT? HAAGEN DAAZS IS AMERICAN?? I feel lied to.

In other news, shout out to my bestie in the whole wide world who is not turning fifty today. Happy birthday anyway! (And wish I had thought to send you an AARP card you old lady.) Miss you like crazy KG!

sistah from another mistah

Leave a Reply

