Day Thirteen: Roosendaal isn’t Rotterdam

Strikes. I haven’t had to deal with those yet when traveling.

I had to wait until the last minute to book tickets to visit my friend Annika in the Netherlands, because the train workers for the non-metro trains were going on strike. And my coworkers made it sound like it wasn’t too out of the ordinary, either. There was no information on the ticket-booking website either, so I was lucky the office told me about it. Fortunately the strike only lasted 24 hours and I was on my way.

But it wouldn’t be me if “my way” didn’t go with some difficulty. I bought the ticket and found the platform alright, but when it came time to get off the train, they had stopped making announcement in English. Or French. Just. Dutch. Ach.

So when I heard “Rotterdam,” where I was making my connection, I hopped off. You can probably see where this is going. I had read a list of city names “translated” online, like:

  • Bergen = Bergen (N) (N for Norway)
  • Cologne = Koeln (oe replaces ö)
  • Florence = Firenze (SMN station)
  • Kopenhagen or Koebenhavn
  • Füssen = Fuessen (ue replaces ü)
  • Prague = Praha (hl. n. station)
  • Rome = Roma (Termini station)
  • Rothenburg = Rothenburg ob der Tauber
  • Venice = Venezia (S. Lucia station)
  • Vienna = Wien
  • Cinque Terre = Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, or Riomaggiore, depending on your destination

from Rick Steve’s Europe

However, it turns out that Roosendaal is NOT an alternate spelling for Rotterdam, and that they were listing upcoming stops rather than where they were. Mother of pearl. Fortunately most people in this country speak English and the person at the info desk set me straight. Thank goodness Annika is a saint, because I showed up at 10PM rather than 845PM.

yep. nope. not even close.

yep. nope. not even close.

We stayed up talking way too late and catching up, as it should have been. I missed this girl! We made plans to go to Amsterdam Saturday, but I will save those stories for tomorrow. Here are some pictures I’ve owed you, and from the day of traveling north:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And since it’s July, here is a recap of where all you beautiful readers have been visiting from over the past month. Thanks for all the kind words and comments so far!

june

2 thoughts on “Day Thirteen: Roosendaal isn’t Rotterdam

  1. Hi Jen, Just wanted to let you know that I am following your adventures. Enjoying every minute of them. So happy for you!

Leave a Reply

