mussels and steamers, noank, connecticut.

may2013 047

One more “I refuse to let summer go” picture. This was from a trip to Abbott’s in Noank, Connecticut on Memorial Day weekend.

When I’m not using and abusing my camera, at school/work I’m researching marine policy, economics, and conservation issues. Seafood has always been tangentially related to what I study, and I’ve learned that what you’re eating and how it arrived on your plate are important questions to ask. Shellfish can be some of the most environmentally sustainable seafood, since they are filter feeders (and therefore use fewer resources to produce a serving of food) and they grow relatively quickly. I have the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch app on my phone for when I’m at a restaurant or grocery store, because it lists seafood according to whether it’s good/okay alternative/bad. Mussels are definitely good. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

